Connect with us

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Bolsters Its Weekend Lineup

Published

on

FOX Sports Radio announced today its weekend lineup for the 2016 Spring/Summer sports season. Beginning April 2nd and 3rd, FSR will welcome several new additions to its diverse ensemble of sports entertainment personalities, analysts and players providing around-the-clock weekend coverage, including game-day previews, analysis and interviews.

Joy Taylor, FS1 host and former morning drive personality at 790 AM The Ticket in South Florida, will join FSR’s Mark Willard on Saturdays from 1p-4p ET.  In addition, NBA All-Star and Slam Dunk Champion Cedric Ceballos will team up with FSR’s Brian Noe on Saturdays from 8p-11p ET, while FS1 NBA Analyst and 14-Year NBA veteran Jim Jackson joins Ryan Field on Sundays from 1p-4p ET.

“FOX Sports Radio cements its standing as the best place for sports talk radio with the addition of these three talented personalities,” stated Scott Shapiro, Premiere Networks Vice President of Sports Programming. “I couldn’t be more proud of the opinions, credibility and creativity that have been assembled in this weekend lineup. There is no better destination for timely and entertaining takes on the biggest stories in sports than FOX Sports Radio.”

Below is FSR’s 2016 weekend Spring/Summer lineup:

Saturdays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT                      Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT                        The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT                      Anthony Gargano & 3-Time Pro Bowler Lincoln Kennedy

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT                     Mark Willard & Joy Taylor

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT                       Steve Hartman & Super Bowl Champion Brady Poppinga

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT                     Brian Noe & NBA All-Star/Slam Dunk Champion Cedric Ceballos

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT                   Arnie Spanier

Sundays

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT                      Jonas Knox

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT                        Nick Ashooh

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT                      Michael Harmon & Dan Beyer

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT                     Ryan Field & 14-Year NBA veteran Jim Jackson

4pm-7pm ET/1pm-4pm PT                       Mike Hill & 8-Year NFL veteran Kirk Morrison

7pm-11pm ET/4pm-8pm PT                     Brian Noe & Mark Willard

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT                   Chris Plank & Arnie Spanier

For more information, visit www.FOXSportsRadio.com.

Sports Radio News

Kirk Herbstriet Wants To Be Held To Same Standard For NFL As College Football

“Herbstreit was on The Pat McAfee Show on Friday and he said he is already at Pro Football Focus in Cincinnati doing his research.”

Published

on

The NFL schedule was released last week, and Thursday Night Football has a lot of interesting matchups for its first year on Amazon Prime. It is also a new broadcast booth with Al Michaels and Kirk Herbstreit on the call. 

With Herbstreit now adding Thursday Night Football to College Gameday, he has already started preparing for the upcoming season. Herbstreit was on The Pat McAfee Show on Friday and he said he is already at Pro Football Focus in Cincinnati doing his research.

“I’m just trying to lay a foundation,” said Herbstreit. 

Herbstreit told McAfee that whenever anyone asks him to talk about a college team, he can quickly tell them what the DNA of that team is. Now he wants to bring that level of preparation to his NFL broadcasts. He will look at a different matchup every week this summer to get a more detailed idea of what each team is about: 

As for his connection with Al Michaels, Herbstreit mentioned he has gone out to dinner with him a couple of times and he wants to make going out to eat with his broadcast partner a frequent deal.

“Hung out with him 2-3 times. Had a chance just to get to know him. When you go into a new deal, I love like Wednesday night dinner, I want to make a staple and just hang out and get to know him and hopefully he will get to know me. When you do that, it allows you to have natural chemistry.”

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Andrew Mason To Succeed John Clayton At 104.3 The Fan

“Mason comes to The Fan from DNVR, a digital outlet where he provided written and audio content for the last three seasons.”

Published

on

John Clayton passed away earlier this year. That left 104.3 The Fan without a lead Broncos writer for the 2022 season. On Monday, the station announced that it had hired a successor in Andrew Mason.

Mason comes to The Fan from DNVR, a digital outlet where he provided written and audio content for the last three seasons.

“Mase’s work speaks for itself as one of the market’s most respected analysts when it comes to writing about and discussing the Broncos,” Raj Sharan, The Fan’s program director, said in a press release. “Replacing someone of the legendary stature of John Clayton was not something we took lightly, and we believe Mase is the perfect person to pick up that mantle and bring tremendous credibility and content to our rapidly growing digital platforms.”

Andrew Mason has a lot of credibility with Broncos fans. He has covered the team for 19 years. He has also written a book called Tales from the Denver Broncos Sideline.

The Fan won’t be his first foray into Denver radio either. Mason has previously been a host on Mile High Sports Radio and the defunct KDSP- AM.

“I’m thrilled to join The Fan team and add what I can to the efforts of building Denver’s premier online destination for Denver fans,” said Mason. “Being tasked with replacing a legend like John Clayton is a responsibility I take very seriously, and I’m honored The Fan has entrusted me with this opportunity.”

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Gregg Giannotti: ‘Drew Brees Isn’t Used To Not Succeeding’

“He’s succeeded at everything he’s ever done and then he gets into the booth and they kick him out after one year. It’s a tough spot.”

Published

on

What does the future hold for Drew Brees? Andrew Marchand reports that he is set to leave NBC. Brees himself says nothing is decided yet.

On Monday morning, Boomer & Gio discussed why the former quarterback is in this position just one year after making his broadcasting debut. Gregg Giannotti noted that if Brees was brought to NBC with the idea that he would eventually be the top game analyst, the criticism he faced last year and the network’s decision to stick with Cris Collinsworth in the Sunday Night Football booth were likely unexpected blows to his ego.

“That’s a tough spot, man, for him,” Gio said. “The guy’s been beloved his whole career. He did go through a little bit of it when people were all over his ass for saying the wrong thing one time, but here he goes. He’s succeeded at everything he’s ever done and then he gets into the booth and they kick him out after one year. It’s a tough spot.”

Boomer Esiason added that the criticism Drew Brees received for his work in the broadcast booth did not apply to his work on Football Night in America or the Sunday Night Football halftime show.

“He was good in the studio,” Boomer Esiason said. “I saw him in the studio and I liked him.”

Brees prefers calling games to work in the studio. According to Marchand’s report, that is what is at the heart of his potential exit from NBC.

The color commentator role may come with more prestige, but it isn’t easy. Esiason has experience with both positions. He calls games on the radio for Westwood One and has been a staple of CBS’s The NFL Today since 2002.

“Some guys are not meant to be game analysts, that’s all.”

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.