Connect with us

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Sets Fall Weekend Lineup

Published

on

Fox Sports Radio has released its Fall lineup of weekend programming. The network is naturally going heavy on college and pro football experience. Amongst the new additions are NFL veteran Bucky Brooks and radio and TV personality Kelvin Washington.

Brooks, who spent five seasons in the NFL with the Bills, Packers, Jaguars, Chiefs, and Raiders, will be heard Saturdays from 4 until 8 pm Easter time. He will partner with FSR veteran Mark Willard.

Washington’s radio experience includes stints with ESPN 710 LA and Radio Disney. He has contributed to a number of CNN shows as well as the syndicated Hollywood Today Live. He will have two weekend slots on FSR, one with Steve Hartman on Saturdays, and the other with thirteen-Year NFL veteran Ephraim Salaam on Sundays.

Other former players that will populate Fox Sports Radio’s weekend lineup this fall include Brady Quinn, Lincoln Kennedy, and Rich Ohrnberger. You can see the network’s full weekend lineup below.

Saturdays:

2am-6 am ET/11pm-3am PT   The Jonas Knox Show

6am-10am ET/3am-7am PT           The Fellas with Anthony Gargano & 3-Time Pro Bowler Lincoln Kennedy

10am-1pm ET/7am-10am PT         The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre  

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT           Steve Hartman & Kelvin Washington

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT             Mark Willard & 5-Year NFL Veteran Bucky Brooks

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Brian Noe & 13-Year NFL Vet. Ephraim Salaam 

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Aaron Torres

Sundays:

2am-3am ET/11pm-12am PT         Straight Outta Vegas with Bernie Fratto

3am-6am ET/12am-3am PT           The Jonas Knox Show

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT             Andy Furman & Brian Noe

9am-11am ET/6am-8am PT           FOX Football Fantasy with Dan Beyer & Michael Harmon

11am-12pm ET/8am-9am PT         FOX NFL Kickoff Simulcast 

12pm-1pm ET/9am-10am PT         FOX NFL Sunday Simulcast 

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT           Red Zone Radio with Mark Willard & 6-Year NFL Vet. Rich Ohrnberger

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT             Red Zone Radio with Kelvin Washington & 13-Year NFL Vet. Ephraim Salaam 

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Jonas Knox & Former Notre Dame QB Brady Quinn   

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Sports Radio News

SURVEY: 16.9% of All Sports Radio Listeners Are Streaming

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielsen reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Published

on

Streaming Radio

According to Nielsen, All Sports radio stations are the third-most streamed spoken word format, just behind Talk/Personality and News/Talk/Info. The trend is continuing to show that streaming is on the uptick.

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielson reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Nielsen notes that in the 45 PPM markets they are grabbing data from and the 4,800+ stations that stream in those markets, just 30% of them are encoded. That encoding allows for Nielsen to accurately measure the streams. They used the listener data from 1,500 stations across the U.S., in its latest report, AM/FM Radio Streaming Growth in PPM Markets

The survey also showed that streaming levels differ widely by radio format. Spoken word formats display strong streaming listenership (Talk/Personality: 31.2%, News/Talk/Info: 19.1%, All Sports: 16.9%). In fact, Nielsen found that 1/3 of all AM/FM streaming in PPM markets is to spoken word formats.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

New Study Finds Listeners to MLB on Radio Are Willing to Spend

More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team… 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

Published

on

MLB Radio

When it comes to advertiser’s attempting to reach an affluent and engaged audience, sports talk radio might have a whale on their hands. Major League Baseball play-by-play features an audience that has money and has no problems spending it.

In a recent MRI-Simmons study, data shows that consumers who listen to MLB broadcasts on the radio are the perfect audience for sports marketers. According to the analysis, done by Katz Radio Group, nearly two thirds (62%) of those surveyed consider themselves “super fans” of baseball. That number is 58% higher than the average.

Radio Listeners to MLB

Those “super fans” are willing to spend to support their team, as well. More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team. Those fans are also far more willing to make the trip to see their team. The study found that 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

The news continues getting better for advertisers. Continued analysis reveals that 66% of listeners are currently employed and have a median household income greater than $106,000.

Listeners to MLB games on the radio are also 34% more likely to place a sports bet and 106% more likely to be a participant in fantasy baseball.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Jeff Dean Signs Off At ESPN Tucson for The Final Time

Dean said on Facebook: “…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Published

on

Jeff Dean Show

Fans will no longer be able to tune into ESPN Tucson and hear Jeff Dean hosting his show. Friday morning was his last show, according to his Facebook and Twitter pages.

The Jeff Dean Show had been airing from 7-9a MT weekday mornings. Dean took to social media to relay the news and the reason behind him stepping away from the microphone. Dean said on Facebook:

“This morning I signed off from my radio show on ESPN Tucson for the final time. I have been devoting too much of my life and my time to working multiple jobs…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Jeff Dean Facebook

Dean went on to emphasize that he isn’t stepping away from ESPN Tucson, he’s just taking himself off the air. He also added that “gladly, I will be continuing my position as PA announcer of University of Arizona Football and Men’s basketball.”

Dean would also go onto Twitter to add even further context for his self-removal from the ESPN Tucson airwaves. He added, “It’s not a decision I arrived at hastily, as it’s been a 6 month mental grind to make the ultimate decision that had to be made, and I’m not particularly happy about it, but I have to put my health first, we all do, and make sure we’re around long enough to enjoy life”.

Dean had been ESPN Tucson’s morning host since November 2019.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.