Connect with us

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Unveils Spring & Summer Lineups

Published

on

Weekend duty at Fox Sports Radio tend to be a largely seasonal affair. That will be the case again in 2019, as the network unveils its roster of hosts for the spring and summer months.

Cuttino Mobley and Caron Butler will each join Jonas Knox for NBA coverage. Mobley will be Knox’s partner on Saturdays from 4-8 pm Eastern through the NBA Playoffs. Butler will take over the role after that and stay on board through the Draft and free agency period. After that time, Bucky Brooks returns to the show to cover NFL training camps.

Los Angeles Times columnist and Around the Horn contributor Bill Plaschke will join Mike Harmon on Sunday mornings, while FS1 college basketball analyst and Omaha radio host Nick Bahe will join Dan Beyer Sunday evenings. Outkick the Coverage contributor Jason Martin lands his own show as well. He will handle the Sunday overnight hours.

Here is FSR’s full weekend schedule through the end of the summer:

Saturdays:

2am-6 am ET/11pm-3am PT          The Jonas Knox Show

6am-10am ET/3am-7am PT           The Fellas with Anthony Gargano & Lincoln Kennedy

10am-1pmET/7am-10am PT          The Big Lead with Jason McIntyre  

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT           Steve Hartman & Rich Ohrnberger      

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT             Jonas Knox & Cuttino Mobley/Caron Butler/Bucky Brooks 

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Brian Noe & Ephraim Salaam

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Aaron Torres

Sundays:

2am-3am ET/11pm-12am PT         Straight Outta Vegas Weekend Edition w/ Bernie Fratto

3am-6am ET/12am-3am PT           The Jason Martin Show

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT             Andy Furman & Brian Noe

9am-1pm ET/6am-10am PT           Mike Harmon & Bill Plaschke

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT           Steve Hartman & Dahntay Jones  

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT             Dan Beyer & FS1’s Nick Bahe

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT           Jonas Knox & Brady Quinn  

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT         Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Sports Radio News

Mark Chernoff Joins 107.1 The Boss in New Jersey

“I’m looking forward to getting back on the radio at 107.1 The Boss, and to being able to live in both the Sports and Rock worlds.”

Published

on

Mark Chernoff has found a new radio home. The former brand manager of the iconic WFAN is now part of Robby & Rochelle In The Morning on 107.1 The Boss in Monmouth/Ocean, New Jersey.

Chernoff makes his debut on May 31 as the show’s sports anchor. He will also be available to cover swing shifts as needed on the station.

“I’m looking forward to getting back on the radio at 107.1 The Boss, and to being able to live in both the Sports and Rock worlds,” he said.  “Many thanks to Robby and Rochelle for inviting me into THEIR world.” 

It was the end of June 2021 when Mark Chernoff left WFAN. He spent 28 years there as program director. He also served as the VP of Sports Programming for Audacy. He was succeeded in that role by Spike Eskin, who Audacy brought to New York from its Philadelphia sports talker, 94 WIP.

Prior to CBS Radio being acquired by then-Entercom, Chernoff also served as VP of Sports Programming for that company and played an integral role for its push into FM sports talk in the middle of the first decade of the 21st century.

“Mark is exceptional talent and a brilliant strategic mind I’ve long respected. I’m thrilled to have him join our team of outstanding broadcasters at Press!” said Robby Bridges, who also serves as PD of 107.1 The Boss.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Danny Balis Explains Exit From The Ticket in Dallas

“The room for growth for me up here is not going to open up until all you knuckleheads retire.”

Published

on

After 22 years, Danny Balis is finished as a producer on 96.7/1310 The Ticket in Dallas.

Balis, 54, told The Dallas Morning News the announcement of his departure “was an unusual situation to actually be able to speak on it on air.”

“I’d rather spend this time focusing on peace of mind, quality of life and maybe open the door for somebody else to take that [producer’s] seat,” he said on The Hardline with hosts Corby Davidson and Bob Sturm.

Balis is a musician and business owner in the Metroplex. That’s where he will shift his attention. He told Davidson and Sturm that there were no opportunities for advancement at the station that would warrant him sticking around.

“The room for growth for me up here is not going to open up until all you knuckleheads retire,” he said. “Then by that time, we’re all the same age.”

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Bobby Carpenter Tells Grant & Danny How Nick Saban Interview Came Together

“Carpenter’s partner on SiriusXM, Jacob Hester, played his college football at LSU. He was recruited there by Saban, who was head coach of the Tigers from 2000 until 2004 when he left to coach the Miami Dolphins.”

Published

on

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban and Texas A&M head football coach Jimbo Fisher got the attention of the sports talk world with their comments about each other personally and about the programs they run.

Saban made an appearance on SiriusXM with Jacob Hester and Bobby Carpenter in the aftermath of Fisher’s fiery response, where the Crimson Tide coaching legend tried to set things straight. He wasn’t asked directly about what Fisher said.

Carpenter spoke to Grant Paulsen and Danny Rouhier on 106.7 The Fan in D.C. on Friday, and said the timing of Saban’s appearance was coincidental.

“It was pre-scheduled before all of that stuff happened,” Carpenter said.

Carpenter’s partner on SiriusXM, Jacob Hester, played his college football at LSU. He was recruited there by Saban, who was head coach of the Tigers from 2000 until 2004 when he left to coach the Miami Dolphins.

Hester, who played just one season for Saban, likely created a level of comfort for the coach that most other national media outlets could not offer.

Bobby Carpenter added that he did want to pressure Saban a little bit about what he had to say about other football coaches using name, image, and likeness deals to lure recruits.

“I don’t think his SID was really keen on him coming on there,” he said. “But I tried to ask some tough but respectful questions through everything.”

Saban in the interview apologized for singling out not only Fisher and A&M, but Deion Sanders and his Jackson State program as well as the University of Miami basketball program. Saban also attempted to contact Jimbo directly, but Fisher has admitted publicly he wasn’t going to take that phone call right now.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.