Connect with us

Sports Radio News

Fox Sports Radio Unveils Weekend Lineup For Fall

Brandon Contes

Published

on

Fox Sports Radio

Fox Sports Radio often changes their weekend lineup to reflect the current season.  With football in full motion, the sport will be heavily featured in the national radio network’s newest weekend schedule of shows. 

Former players and analysts will be on hand to offer 24-hour coverage, featuring game-day reaction, analysis and interviews.  Returning from the summer schedule will be former NFL players Bucky Brooks, Brady Quinn, Ephraim Salaam, Lincoln Kennedy and Rich Ohrnberger. 

Also returning to the weekend lineup from last fall will be their simulcast of Fox NFL Sunday which was recently inducted into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame as America’s most watched NFL pregame show in the last quarter-century.  Fox NFL Sunday features Curt Menifee, Terry Bradshaw, Howie Long, Jimmy Johnson and Michael Strahan.  

Leading up to the Fox NFL Sunday broadcast will be a simulcast of the Fox NFL Kickoff show.  Hosted by Charissa Thompson, the sportscaster is joined by a group of contributors including Colin Cowherd, Tony Gonzalez, Michael Vick, Dave Wannstedt, Cooper Manning and Peter Schraeger.

“From weekdays to weekends, early mornings to overnights, FOX Sports Radio is live 24-7 reacting to the biggest stories in sports,” said Scott Shapiro, Premiere Networks VP of Sports Programming. “With the most talented and credible personalities in the industry, FOX Sports Radio delivers instant reaction before games, during games when monumental plays happen, directly after games, and anytime sports news breaks.”

FSR’s fall weekend schedule:

Saturdays:

2am-6am ET/11pm-3am PT          The Jonas Knox Show

6am-10am ET/3am-7am PT           The Fellas with Anthony Gargano & 3-Time Pro Bowler Lincoln Kennedy

10am-1pmET/7am-10am PT          The Jason McIntyre Show

1pm-4pm ET/10am-1pm PT          Steve Hartman & Pro Bowl Wide Receiver T.J. Houshmandzadeh         

4pm-8pm ET/1pm-5pm PT            Jonas Knox & 5-Year NFL Cornerback/Return Specialist Bucky Brooks

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT          Brian Noe & FS1’s Nick Bahe

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT        Arnie Spanier & Aaron Torres

2am-3am ET/11pm-12am PT         Straight Outta Vegas Weekend Edition w/ Bernie Fratto

Sundays:

3am-6am ET/12am-3am PT           The Jason Martin Show

6am-9am ET/3am-6am PT             Andy Furman & Brian Noe

9am-11am ET/6am-8am PT        FOX Football Sunday with Mike Harmon & 6-Year NFL Tight End George
                                                         Wrighster/10-Year NFL Safety & Super Bowl Champion Will Blackmon

11am-12pm ET/8am-9am PT         FOX NFL Kickoff Simulcast

12pm-1pm ET/9am-10am PT        FOX NFL Sunday Simulcast

1pm-5pm ET/10am-2pm PT          Red Zone Radio with Steve Hartman & 6-Year NFL Guard Rich 
                                                            Ohrnberger     

5pm-8pm ET/2pm-5pm PT            Red Zone Radio with Dan Beyer & 13-Year NFL Tackle Ephraim Salaam

8pm-11pm ET/5pm-8pm PT          Jonas Knox & Former Notre Dame QB Brady Quinn  

11pm-2am ET/8pm-11pm PT        Arnie Spanier & Chris Plank

Brandon Contes is a freelance writer for BSM. He can be found on Twitter @BrandonContes. To reach him by email click here.

Sports Radio News

SURVEY: 16.9% of All Sports Radio Listeners Are Streaming

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielsen reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Published

on

Streaming Radio

According to Nielsen, All Sports radio stations are the third-most streamed spoken word format, just behind Talk/Personality and News/Talk/Info. The trend is continuing to show that streaming is on the uptick.

The survey found that in May 2022, 16.9% of sports talk radio’s audience tunes in via the station’s online stream. That news comes as Nielson reported that 11.3% of all radio listenership comes thru a stream, up from 6.9% in May of 2020.

Nielsen notes that in the 45 PPM markets they are grabbing data from and the 4,800+ stations that stream in those markets, just 30% of them are encoded. That encoding allows for Nielsen to accurately measure the streams. They used the listener data from 1,500 stations across the U.S., in its latest report, AM/FM Radio Streaming Growth in PPM Markets

The survey also showed that streaming levels differ widely by radio format. Spoken word formats display strong streaming listenership (Talk/Personality: 31.2%, News/Talk/Info: 19.1%, All Sports: 16.9%). In fact, Nielsen found that 1/3 of all AM/FM streaming in PPM markets is to spoken word formats.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

New Study Finds Listeners to MLB on Radio Are Willing to Spend

More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team… 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

Published

on

MLB Radio

When it comes to advertiser’s attempting to reach an affluent and engaged audience, sports talk radio might have a whale on their hands. Major League Baseball play-by-play features an audience that has money and has no problems spending it.

In a recent MRI-Simmons study, data shows that consumers who listen to MLB broadcasts on the radio are the perfect audience for sports marketers. According to the analysis, done by Katz Radio Group, nearly two thirds (62%) of those surveyed consider themselves “super fans” of baseball. That number is 58% higher than the average.

Radio Listeners to MLB

Those “super fans” are willing to spend to support their team, as well. More than one third (34%) of the respondents recently purchased clothing/apparel that features their favorite team. Those fans are also far more willing to make the trip to see their team. The study found that 27% have visited a ballpark in the past year. That compares to only 19% of the average MLB fan base has made an apparel purchase to support their team while just 11% have gone to a game in person in that same time span.

The news continues getting better for advertisers. Continued analysis reveals that 66% of listeners are currently employed and have a median household income greater than $106,000.

Listeners to MLB games on the radio are also 34% more likely to place a sports bet and 106% more likely to be a participant in fantasy baseball.

Continue Reading

Sports Radio News

Jeff Dean Signs Off At ESPN Tucson for The Final Time

Dean said on Facebook: “…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Published

on

Jeff Dean Show

Fans will no longer be able to tune into ESPN Tucson and hear Jeff Dean hosting his show. Friday morning was his last show, according to his Facebook and Twitter pages.

The Jeff Dean Show had been airing from 7-9a MT weekday mornings. Dean took to social media to relay the news and the reason behind him stepping away from the microphone. Dean said on Facebook:

“This morning I signed off from my radio show on ESPN Tucson for the final time. I have been devoting too much of my life and my time to working multiple jobs…the years of burning the candle at both ends has taken a dire toll on my health and for the first time in my life, I’m going to put myself and my livelihood first”

Jeff Dean Facebook

Dean went on to emphasize that he isn’t stepping away from ESPN Tucson, he’s just taking himself off the air. He also added that “gladly, I will be continuing my position as PA announcer of University of Arizona Football and Men’s basketball.”

Dean would also go onto Twitter to add even further context for his self-removal from the ESPN Tucson airwaves. He added, “It’s not a decision I arrived at hastily, as it’s been a 6 month mental grind to make the ultimate decision that had to be made, and I’m not particularly happy about it, but I have to put my health first, we all do, and make sure we’re around long enough to enjoy life”.

Dean had been ESPN Tucson’s morning host since November 2019.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Barrett Media.